Skip to content

A brief history University City Summer Band

University City's community band concerts began in 1961 with performances held in Heman Park and Metcalfe Park on Monday nights in June and July, but the city's concert band disappeared from the scene after 1970. A new Monday night series, the Starlight Concert Series, started in 1971 and gained in popularity, offering appearances by the most popular combos of the day.

The band today...

The University City Summer Concert Band was revived in 1997, under the direction of Dan Presgrave and was directed by Ken Thompson during the 2000-2002 seasons. The band has been under the direction of Thomas Poshak since 2003. The band is financed through government grants, corporate and individual donations and program ads. Rehearsals are one day a week (Monday) and six Tuesday evening concerts are presented during June and July. These outdoor concerts where held in the Market at the Loop on Delmar in University City from 1997 to 2015.

For Summer 2016, the UC Summer Band will be in its NEW LOCATION at Heman Park (Midland & Shaftesbury Entrance).

The Musicians...

Over 90 volunteer instrumentalists from all walks of life make up the complete roster of the UCity Summer Band with 60-70 performing at each concert. While primarily adults, some college age students and select high school students are included in the makeup of the band. Many of our members participate in other community bands and orchestras in the St. Louis region.

...the conductor...

Thomas Poshak received his Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees from the University of Michigan. He retired in 2001 after a 30 year career as a high school band director. Mr. Poshak taught in the US Virgin Islands, in Ladue, Missouri and was the Band Director and Music Coordinator for the Kirkwood School District from 1985 until 2001. Under his direction the Ladue Symphonic Band performed at the MMEA convention in 1982, and the Kirkwood Symphonic Band received Honor I ratings at MSHSAA Festivals for twelve consecutive years and Gold Ratings at music festivals in Atlanta, Chicago and Nashville. He has held offices in the Missouri Music Educator's Association, Phi Beta Mu and the St. Louis Suburban Music Educator's Association and is a member of the Music Educators National Conference, Missouri Bandmaster's Association and Phi Mu Alpha. In 2001 he received the Music Educator of the Year award from the SLSMEA and in 2004 received the Hall of Fame Award. He also is the assistant conductor of the St. Louis Wind Symphony.


2017 Members

Andrea Clark
Debbie Geibel

Rosemary Adams
Linda Anderson#
Chrisena Brown
Carla Cooper
Andrea Clark
Trina Dickmann
Debbie Geibel
Martha Lou Haddon
Jennifer Henderson
Dorothy Hickman
Julie Irby
Diane Margherio
Nancy Reycraft
Christine Rombaut
Bonnie Sabin
Cindy Schellenberg
Debbie Schill
Suzanne Schoomer*#

Susan Adams#
Aaron Feldman
Jocelyn Garner

Bob Baumann*
Richard Cavanagh
Gary Gibbs#
Cathy Grotegeers 
Chuck Lockyear#
Matt McKeever
Craig Palmer
Carol Shain
Brandon Sipe
Kristie Skor 
Ron Stilwell
Jeanne Townsend
Anne Winkler
Jerry Wood
Thomas Yonke

Clarinet, Bass
Gary Gibbs#
Mark Thiel#

Sax, Alto
Lori Burkhardt-Lurk*#
Megan Coonrod
Hal Goldsmith
Thomas Moore
Rebecca Parisi
Adam Schultz
Paddy Scott
Jim Shollenberger
Dale Skornia
Darold Strand

Sax, Tenor
Jeff DeWald
David Farrington
Nancee Glaser
Mike Kanaan

Sax, Bari
Bob Probst

Nancy Bender*#
Lorna Crafton
Bryan Dinman
Dale Engelbrecht
Casey Geisz
Chelsey Hillyer
Don Holstien
Nelda Lee
Ryan Mckenzie
Pete Pancella
Alec Patton
Steve Platt
April Silverman
Brian Smith
Terrell Stringer
David Wheelock#

French Horn
Bill Coalson
Jennifer Dilley
Allison Gacioch 
Doug Luke*#
Amanda Muscato
Richard Sohn
Franklin Swartzwelder 
Mary Swartzwelder 
Onalee Yousey

Alex Davies
Kevon Hall
Daniel Shavers

Sandra Andrick
Roger Davenport
Donna Davis
Ben Dickmann
Annette Nicks Hall
Ed Levy
Gabe Mueller
Bob Settle*
Sue Ellen Speicher
Shelly Steward
Grant Unnerstall
Cornelius Washington, Jr.#
Dan Wieder

Trombone, Bass
Andy Schiefelbein
Rich Wieder

Michael Brooks
April Dalton
Bill Jeffries
Travis Laws
Matthew Turek

Kurt Bauche
Larry Hansen#
Chris Jacobus
David Jones
Andy Magnus
Toni Stanley Ratican

Melanie A. Cytron 
Alicia Harrison
Timothy Hill
Merrick Felder#
David Naylor
Michael Sneller
Bette Welch*#
*Section leader
#20 years participation

20 Years Absentia 2016 Season
Clarinet: Bruce Arnold
Percussion: Betsy Cytron, Andre Maclin